What is Not Yours is Not Yours

Author(s): Helen Oyeyemi


The stories collected in What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours are linked by more than the exquisitely winding prose of their creator: Helen Oyeyemi's ensemble cast of characters slip from the pages of their own stories only to surface in another. The reader is invited into a world of lost libraries and locked gardens, of marshlands where the drowned dead live and a city where all the clocks have stopped; students hone their skills at puppet school, the Homely Wench Society commits a guerrilla book-swap, and lovers exchange books and roses on St Jordi's Day. It is a collection of towering imagination, marked by baroque beauty and a deep sensuousness.

Product Information

A remarkable collection of short stories from one of our most gifted writers, Helen Oyeyemi.

Oyeyemi's imagination is impressive and vast ... Her ability to conceive her stories on such a grand scale is what makes her work so magnetic, sucking the reader into any number of netherworlds. Perhaps it's this ability to consume and be consumed that keeps Oyeyemi constantly, and prolifically, at work. Guardian

Helen Oyeyemi is the author of five novels, including White is for Witching (which won a 2010 Somerset Maugham Award), Mr Fox and Boy, Snow, Bird. In 2013, Helen was included in Granta's Best of Young British Novelists.

General Fields

  • : 9781447299363
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Picador
  • : 0.454
  • : March 2016
  • : 216mm X 135mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Helen Oyeyemi
  • : Hardback
  • : Main Market Ed.
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : 176