Titus Awakes

Author(s): Mervyn Peake; Maeve Gilmore; Brian Sibley (Introduction by)


"When Peake died in 1968, he left behind the start of a fourth Gormenghast book, Titus Awakes. His wife, the writer and artist Maeve Gilmore, completed the manuscript. The book continues the story of the Titus, the 77th Earl of Groan, as he wanders in the modern world and finds his final resting place in Sark."

Product Information

Maeve Gilmore was a writer and painter. She married Mervyn Peake in 1937. She is the author of A World Away: Memoir of Mervyn Peake.

Mervyn Peake was born in 1911 in Kuling, Central Southern China, where his father was a medical missionary. His education began in China and then continued at Eltham College in South East London, followed by the Croydon School of Art and the Royal Academy Schools. Subsequently he became an artist, married the painter Maeve Gilmore in 1937 and had three children. During the Second World War he established a reputation as a gifted book illustrator for Ride a Cock Horse (1940), The Hunting of the Snark (1941) and The Rime of The Ancient Mariner (1943). Other books include Alice's Adventure's in Wonderland and Grimm's Household Tales (both 1946) and Treasure Island (1949). Titus Groan was published in 1946, followed in 1950 by Gormenghast. Among his other works are Shapes and Sounds (1941), Rhymes Without Reason (1944), Letters from a Lost Uncle (1948) and Mr Pye (1953). Titus Alone was published in 1959. Mervyn Peake died in 1968.

General Fields

  • : 9780099552765
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Arrow
  • : 0.238
  • : June 2011
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 18mm
  • : August 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Mervyn Peake; Maeve Gilmore; Brian Sibley (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : 911
  • : English
  • : 823.912
  • : 288